Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Photo credit: MT Actions Photography

AJHL Gameday Speaker Series returns to Grande Prairie

GRANDE PRAIRIE - Hockey Alberta is proud to once again partner with the Alberta Junior Hockey League and the Grande Prairie Storm to present the AJHL Game Day Speaker Series for local coaches on September 23.

The Speaker Series, which was first offered in February in Grande Prairie, features a game-day seminar session, with each session offering a unique professional development opportunity to learn from high profile junior coaches - as well as a chance to catch the Grande Prairie Storm in action.

The Seminar will be held at Revolution Place in Grande Prairie. There are only 20 seats available for the seminar, and registration is on a first-come, first-served basis. Registration is $45 (plus GST) per coach, and includes the following ($200 value):

  • Presentation from Hockey Alberta led by Coach Mentor Fran Gow
  • Pre- and post-game contributions from the coaches for both AJHL teams (Grande Prairie Storm & Drayton Valley Thunder)
  • Food/drink voucher
  • A ticket to the game
  • Hockey Alberta resource package, Hockey Alberta gift

Register >

Date: Saturday September 23, 2017
Start Time: Check-in at 5:00 p.m.
Location: Revolution Place (Registration location will be emailed two days prior to start date)

For more information, please contact Blake Cosgrove, Consultant, Hockey Alberta Regional Centre Northwest.

Home Ice Feature

Photo credit: Matthew Murnaghan/HockeyCanadaImages

Six Albertans selected in CWHL Draft

RED DEER - Six Albertans were among the 113 female hockey players selected in the 2017 Canadian Women’s Hockey League Draft.

Defender Taryn Baumgardt (Innisfail) was the first Albertan off the board, taken fifth overall by the Calgary Inferno. Goaltender Robyn Chemago (Slave Lake) was selected three picks later, eighth overall by the Boston Blades, while the Inferno used its next pick, 12th overall, on another Albertan, defender Kelly Murray (Calgary).

Cassidy Delainey (Edmonton) was the next Albertan chosen, as the Toronto Furies selected the left-winger 37th overall. The Calgary Inferno continued the trend with its 61st and 87th picks, selecting left-winger Kennedy Brown (Okotoks) and right-winger Krista Wilson (Olds), respectively.

Baumgardt, Chemago, Murray, and Brown have all represented Team Alberta at the U18 level; Baumgardt three times, Chemago and Murray twice, and Brown once. Brown is also the first graduate of the Alberta Female Hockey League to be drafted into the CWHL, having played for the Rocky Mountain Raiders (Midget AAA) during the league’s inaugural season in 2016-17.

Delainey and Wilson have both coached at the Alberta Challenge, and Delainey was the Head Coach, and Wilson the Assistant Coach of the Olds Grizzlys (Bantam Elite) of the AFHL during the 2016-17 season.

Hockey Alberta is proud to unveil a new section at Home Ice Feature stories will focus on interesting stories about the individuals and groups who make a difference within the hockey community in Alberta. If you have a suggestion for a Home Ice Feature story, email [email protected].

Hockey Alberta Foundation

Photo credit: LA Media

Golf and Gala events raise over $100,000 for Every Kid Every Community

RED DEER - The Every Kid Every Community program has over $100,000 coming its way, thanks to the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Awards Gala and Hockey Alberta Foundation Golf Classic, presented by ATB Investor Services.

The three-day fundraising event in Canmore began on July 23 with the AHHF Awards Gala at the Coast Hotel, which raised just over $9,100 through a wine pull, silent auction, and live auction.

The 12th annual HAF Golf Classic, presented by ATB Investor Services, ran July 24th and 25th at the Stewart Creek Golf Club, bringing in more than $92,000 - a large part of that coming from the Talking Goalie’s fundraising effort.

The Talking Goalie (Rob Kerr from Sportsnet 960 in Calgary) withstood a barrage of shots from golfers throughout the day, raising $10,100, with challengers opting to show their support to either the Calgary Flames or Edmonton Oilers. The Calgary Flames Foundation then tripled the amount raised in their name, and the Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation doubled the amount raised in their name, bringing the grand total of funds raised by the Talking Goalie to $26,300.

The Hockey Alberta Foundation would like to thank all those who showed their support for the Hockey Alberta Foundation and Every Kid Every Community program, helping to get more kids across the province into hockey. A special thank-you goes out to the Flames Foundation and Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation for their charity challenge contributions. The Foundation would also like to thank its title sponsor, ATB Investor Services, key contributing sponsors Vada Capital, Quinn’s Energy, Collins Barrow, ATB Financial, and the Western Hockey League, and in-kind sponsors Golf Town and Freeman Audio Visual for their continued support.

For photos from both events, click here.


Photo credit: Two Point Photography

Twenty-four AFHL graduates commit to Post-Secondary schools

RED DEER - More than 20 graduating Midget players from the Alberta Female Hockey League will be suiting up for post-secondary teams this fall.

The Alberta Female Hockey League is please to announce the following commitments for the 2017-18 season:

AFHL Program Name Post-Secondary Team
PCFAC Midget Elite Jordan Winsor Olds College
PCFAC Midget Elite Tanel Boeckman NAIT
St. Albert Slash AAA MacKenzie Reynolds SAIT
St. Albert Slash AAA Ashley Nothof Lethbridge
St. Albert Slash AAA Keely Vachon MacEwan University
St. Albert Slash AAA Lexie Shumate SAIT
St. Albert Slash AAA Kaylee Vader St. Thomas University
Edmonton AAA Madison Laplante Nipissing University
Lloydminster AAA Madison Cole University of Manitoba
Lloydminster AAA Tessa Mitchell MacEwan University
Lloydminster AAA Neisha Germann Red Deer College
Lloydminster AAA Bailee Werstoh Olds College
Red Deer AAA Beth Taylor MacEwan University
Red Deer AAA Jordyn Burgar Red Deer College
Red Deer AAA Camryn Wallan Red Deer College
Red Deer AAA Brynn O’Dwyer Laurentian University
Red Deer AAA Camille Scherger University of PEI
Red Deer AAA Tyra Coutts NAIT
Red Deer AAA Carly Wlad University of Calgary
Red Deer Midget Elite Shae Lynne Bilodeau NAIT
Red Deer Midget Elite Danica Polson Adrian College
Calgary AAA Emily Hill Olds College
Calgary Midget Elite Jenna Patrician SAIT
Rocky Mountain Raiders AAA Ava Thiessen University of Saskatchewan
Rocky Mountain Raiders AAA Catherine Longchamps University of Saskatchewan