Volunteer of the Year

One award presented annually to a volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to amateur hockey during the current season. Whether as a Team Official, Official, or Administrator (team executive member, Minor Hockey Association executive member, Hockey Alberta volunteer, league executive Member), the recipient will have dedicated significant effort, time, and leadership to growing and/or developing hockey in their local community and/or provincially.

Jody Forbes (Calgary)

As Jody retires from the Girls Hockey Calgary Board this spring she has left an indelible impact on the Calgary hockey community in general and specifically female hockey in the city. When Jody became the president of GHC three years ago, membership sat at 500 players in 6 divisions. Under her leadership GHC currently has just over 800 female players registered in 6 divisions and 5 elite teams. It is now one of the largest associations in Calgary and the largest female association in Alberta. During Jody’s time as president she has revamped and upgraded the board of directors, integrated the 5 GHC elite teams into the AFHL, and streamlined how GHC operates.