Photo Credit: Ron Wassink/Arctic Winter Games

Arctic Winter Games

The 2018 Arctic Winter Games are set for March 17-24 in Fort Smith and Hay River, Northwest Territories.

The Arctic Winter Games is the world’s largest northern multi-sport and cultural event. The Arctic Winter Games are a celebration of athletic completion, culture, friendship and cooperation between northern contingents. Athletic competition features sports that enjoy worldwide popularity alongside traditional Arctic Sports and dene Games. A significant cultural component featuring visual arts, dance, ceremonies and galas with participants from across the circumpolar region is a pillar of the Games.

The Arctic Winter Games are unique because they include and encourage competition of traditional Arctic and Dene games for those living in the Circumpolar North.

Selection Camps

Registration is now open for male Bantam players born in 2003-2004, and female Junior players born 1999-2004 to attend Team Alberta North selection camps for the 2018 Arctic Winter Games.

Male selection camp runs December 8-10 in High Prairie, while Female selection camp runs January 5-7 in Slave Lake.

Male Registration > | Female Registration >

Communities eligible to participate in the Arctic Winter Games are located on or above the 55th Parallel. Click here to view a list of eligible communities.

The registration deadline is December 5 for males, and January 1 for females.

The Team Alberta North program (Bantam male team and Junior female team) is a Hockey Alberta development program unique to Northern Alberta. It provides eligible players and coaches an equal opportunity to discover the great qualities of competitive hockey in a well-organized and fair selection camp and team competition.

Ice hockey competition is held in junior women’s and midget and bantam boys age classes. Each team is comprised of 17 players and two coaches. Teams participate in a round-robin tournament to determine seeding for medal-round pairings. One gold ulu is awarded in each age/sex class. Teams that regularly participate in ice hockey include Alaska, Yukon, Alberta North, Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

For more information, contact Blake Cosgrove, Consultant of Hockey Alberta’s Northwest Regional Centre, at