Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North

Photo Credit: LA Media

2015 ATB Alberta Cup, April 30 - May 3, Canmore, AB

The 2015 ATB Alberta Cup was won by Calgary South as they defeated South by a score of 4-3 in the ’A’ Championhip. South jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the first period on goals from Jackson Salt, Zach Huber, and Tucker Zdunich. With less than a minute left to play in the period however, Spencer Moe would get Calgary South on the board to make it 3-1 going into the second.

In the second, Zane Kindrachuk pulled Calgary South within a goal just a minute and a half into the period with a powerplay marker.Orca Wiesblatt tied the game with 5:18 left in the second with another powerplay goal for Calgary South. Two minutes later, Kindrachuk scored his second goal of the game and what would turn out to be the championship winning goal, another powerplay tally.

Calgary South suffered only one defeat during the tournament, during round robin action, to Team Northwest. Calgary South opened the event with a close win over Edmonton Blue, then lost to Northwest before rebounding to beat South in a route. In the semi-final round, they drew Edmonton Yellow, who they would defeat 5-3 to reach the ’A’ final.

South’s only trouble came against Calgary South, losing to them twice. In round robin, they made short work of Edmonton Blue and Northwest. In the semi-final, they defeated the 2014 champions, Calgary North, to earn a chance at redemption against Calgary South.

Click here to view all 2015 ATB Alberta Cup rosters and stats.

Click here for all game summaries from the 2015 ATB Alberta Cup.