Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Hockey Alberta & BC Hockey Announce The 2012 Team Pacific Roster

Hockey Alberta and BC Hockey announced Tuesday the 22-player roster that will represent Team Pacific at the 2012 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, December 29, 2011 – January 4, 2012 in Windsor, Ontario.

Team Pacific is comprised of 11 players from BC and 11 players from Alberta. Each province held a provincial camp over the summer to identify a set number of players. These players were evaluated during the first part of the club team season by a selected group of high performance evaluators.

“We’re very excited about the talented group of athletes we’re bringing to this competition,” said Team Pacific Head Coach, Michael Dyck. “We feel we have the right pieces in place to compete against the top teams in Windsor next month.”


“Now that the team is solidified, we can focus on bringing this group together and preparing them to compete at a very high level,” added Dyck. “Preparation is key for a short-term competition like this and we look forward to beginning the process with the 22 players.

The 2011 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge will bring together the top players in the world born in 1995 or later. The tournament is made up of 10 teams; five (5) from Canada - Quebec, Ontario, Pacific (Alberta, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Yukon), Atlantic (New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island) and West (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Nunavut), and five (5) International teams - Germany, Sweden, Russia, Czech Republic and the United States.

Team Pacific has included some of the top hockey players that Canada has ever produced.  Some notable graduates who have competed on Team Pacific include:

• Ryan Nugent-Hopkins 2010

• Joe Sakic, Team Pacific 1986

Jarome Iginla, Team Pacific 1994

• Brent Seabrook, Team Pacific 2002

Dion Phaneuf, Team Pacific 2002

• Mike Green, Team Pacific 2002

Evander Kane, Team Pacific 2008

The Under 17 program is the first step in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence.  Many players who compete at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge go on to represent Canada with the National Men’s Under 18 Team, National Junior Team and National Men’s Team.

At the 2011 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Winnipeg, Manitoba Team Pacific finished third winning the bronze medal.


2011 Future Leader Scholarship Winners 

The Hockey Alberta Foundation is pleased to announce the 2011 post-secondary student scholarship winners through the Future Leaders Scholarship program. Each recipient was awarded a $1000 scholarship in recognition of their excellent leadership skills in Hockey Alberta’s Future Leaders Development Program. 

In addition to the $1000 scholarships, the Hockey Alberta Foundation also granted two Distinguished Future Leader Scholarships for $3000. These awards went to student leaders who demonstrated exceptional leadership and dedication throughout the program, which is operated by Hockey Alberta each year. The recipients of the Distinguished Future Leader Scholarships for 2011 are Brandin Cote and Cody Reynolds.

First Name

Last Name



Brandin Cote Red Deer $4000 - Distinguished
Cody Reynolds Sylvan Lake $4000 - Distinguished
Calaine Inglis Edmonton $1000
Richard Wong Grande Prairie $1000
Sarah Hilworth Edmonton $1000
Travis Klemp Drayton Valley $1000
Jayden Skoye St. Albert $1000
Amy Van Buskirk Lethbridge $1000

“The Hockey Alberta Foundation is very proud to award these funds to some of Alberta’s brightest young leaders in Hockey,” said Gary Seher, chairman, Hockey Alberta Foundation. “This year’s group of students was exceptional and we look forward to their continued involvement in communities and programs in Alberta in the years to come.”

The Hockey Alberta Future Leaders program identifies and trains University and College students who aspire to become future coaches and/or volunteers in Hockey. The Future Leaders Scholarship program awards the top student leaders with scholarships for their demonstration of leadership and excellence throughout the program.


Hockey Alberta Remembers Kyle Fundytus

On November 13, 2011, Kyle Fundytus of Edmonton, tragically passed away at the age of 16 years.

Kyle will be sadly missed and forever remembered by his loving parents, Laurie and Sue; his sister and best friend, Jenny; grandmother, Yvonne Foisy; and Dido, William Fundytus. He is also survived by numerous aunts and uncles, cousins, school mates, many friends and his hockey family.

Prayers will be held on Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. at St. Theresa’s Catholic Church, 7508 - 29 Avenue, Edmonton where a Mass of Resurrection will be celebrated on Friday, November 18, 2011 at 10:30 a.m.

Fundytus passed away in Edmonton. Fundytus was playing for the South Side Athletic Club’s (SSAC) Don Wheaton Midget AA team at the Clareview Arena when he was struck in the neck by the puck during a hockey game against the Maple Leaf Athletic Club (MLAC) Saturday afternoon. Fundytus was rushed to the hospital, but succumbed to the injury.

“Our thoughts and prayers go out to the Fundytus family and to all the athletes and staff of both the SSAC and MLAC hockey teams during this difficult time,” said Hockey Alberta President, Rob Virgil. “This was a tragic accident that has deeply affected the hockey community in Alberta. Our focus right now is to ensure the emotional & psychological needs of those involved are being looked after.”