Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships: Week One Preview

RED DEER - The 2019 Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships, presented by ATB Financial, officially kick off today (Thursday) with 13 tournaments across the province.

Provincial championships set for March 14-17 include: Atom Female (Medicine Hat), Atom D (Elk Point), Atom C (Duchess), Atom B (Picture Butte), Atom A (Peace River), Atom AA Minor (Calgary - Trails West), Atom AA Major (Okotoks), Bantam Female A (Girls Hockey Calgary), Bantam D (Kneehill), Bantam C (Nanton), Bantam B (Vermilion), Bantam A (Cold Lake), and Midget Female A (Irma).

You can keep track of all this weekend’s tournaments at, by following along with the score ticker at, on Facebook, Twitter (using the hashtags #HAProvincials or #ATBProvincials), or on Instagram (username: hockey.alberta).

Hockey Alberta and ATB Financial are also proud to unveil a new Snapchat filter, available at all Provincial rinks across the province. Players and fans are encouraged to use the Provincials filter, and share it on Snapchat, as well as other social media platforms.

You can also follow along with a number of individual tournaments on social media:

Atom Female: Facebook
Atom D: Facebook
Atom B: Facebook
Atom AA Minor:
Facebook | Instagram
Atom AA Major:
Facebook | Instagram
Bantam Female A:
Twitter | Instagram
Bantam D: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Bantam C: Facebook
Bantam A: Facebook
Midget Female A: Facebook | Twitter

Five host communities are also celebrating True Spirit of Hockey Day this week, with Cold Lake, Duchess, Elk Point, Nanton, Okotoks, Red Deer and Vermilion all hosting a number of fun activities at local schools, allowing students to learn about hockey, and the teamwork and friendships that can be generated in the sport.


Senior AAA - Stony Plain Eagles VS. Innisfail Eagles
Best-of-seven series tied 1-1
Winner plays Lacombe Generals in two-game, total-goal series to determine league champion

Game One: Stony Plain 5,
Game Two: Innisfail 4
, Stony Plain 3
Game Three:
Friday, March 15, 8:30 p.m. - Stony Plain @ Innisfail
Game Four
: Saturday, March 16, 7:30 p.m. - Innisfail @ Stony Plain
Game Five: Friday, March 22, 8:30 p.m. - Stony Plain @ Innisfail
Game Six (if necessary): Saturday, March 23, 7:30 p.m. - Innisfail @ Stony Plain
Game Seven (if necessary): Sunday, March 24, 5:00 p.m. - Stony Plain @ Innisfail

Allan Cup - April 8-13 - Lacombe, Alberta

Midget AAA - Teams, dates TBD

Telus Cup - April 22-28 - Thunder Bay, Ontario

Bantam AAA - Fort Saskatchewan Rangers vs Red Deer Rebels
Best-of-five series begins on March 16

Game One: Saturday, March 16, 2:45 p.m. - Fort Sask @ Red Deer
Game Two:
Sunday, March 17, 1:00 p.m. - Fort Sask @ Red Deer
Game Three: Saturday, March 23, 5:15 p.m. - Red Deer @ Fort Sask
Game Four (if necessary): Sunday, March 24, 12:15 p.m. - Red Deer @ Fort Sask
Game Five (If necessary): Tuesday, March 26, 7:15 p.m. - Fort Sask @ Red Deer


Photo credit: Two Point Photography and Design

Six Albertans selected for 2019 U Sports Nationals

RED DEER - Hockey Alberta would like to congratulate the six Albertans selected to work the 2019 U Sports Men’s and Women’s National Championships.

Referees Chris Crich (Airdrie) and Colin Watt (Edmonton), along with Linesmen Michael Roberts (Calgary), Chad Huseby (Red Deer), and Deion Foster (Edmonton), will all officiate at the U Sports Men’s National Championship in Lethbridge.

On the female side, Referee Lacey Senuk (St. Albert) was chosen for the U Sports Female National Championships in Charlottetown, PE.

Both National Championships run March 14-17.

Hockey Alberta Foundation

Introducing the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2019

RED DEER - Five outstanding individuals, along with the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cups, comprise the 2019 Induction Class for the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced on Thursday the 2019 inductees who will be recognized at the AHHF Awards Gala on Sunday, July 21, at the Coast Hotel in Canmore:

  • Shirley Cameron – player, coach and builder of women’s hockey in Alberta
  • Theoren Fleury – NHL All-Star, Stanley Cup winner with the Calgary Flames and Olympic Gold Medalist
  • Kevin Lowe – six-time Stanley Cup champion with the Edmonton Oilers and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist
  • Duncan MacDougall – four decades of involvement with at the grassroots level of the officiating program in Edmonton
  • Bob Ridley – long-time play-by-play voice (and bus driver) of the Medicine Hat Tigers
  • Medicine Hat Tigers (1986-1987 and 1987-88) – two-time Memorial Cup champions, and the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cups

Inductee Bios >

We invite you to celebrate the legacy of these Alberta hockey legends on Sunday, July 21 at the Coast Hotel in Canmore. For ticket information, click here.


Team Alberta captures gold at Canada Winter Games

RED DEER - Team Alberta U18 Female denied the odds and rode a wave of confidence to win gold on home soil in Women’s Hockey at the 2019 Canada Winter Games Saturday afternoon.

Alberta drew undefeated Quebec in the final, and defeated them 2-1 in front of a capacity crowd at the Downtown Arena.

Kassy Betinol had the crowd on its feet just over 10 minutes into the game on the powerplay, her third goal of the tournament.

Jaden Bogden made it 2-0 five minutes into the second, but Quebec responded just two minutes later to draw within one.

Alberta goaltender Bella McKee shut the door from there, and made 31 saves to lead her team to gold.

The gold medal was Alberta’s 100th medal of the 2019 Canada Winter Games, and second in hockey, with the Men’s team winning bronze in week one.