Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Hockey Alberta Regional Centre - Calgary To Team Up With Minor Hockey At Flames Superskills Event

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Regional Centre - Calgary is pleased to be a part of the Danone Flames Superskills event being held at the Saddledome on February 12th.

8 minor hockey players will take to the ice and compete in various skill competitions including Fastest Skater, Hardest Shot, Shot Accuracy and more!

Before stepping onto the ice with the Flames, the players will take part in a Skill Session with Regional Centre - Calgary Coordinator, Chris Leinweber.

"It’s a really exciting opportunity. We’ll work on some power skating, shooting, puck handling as well as some positional play," said Leinweber. "Maybe we’ll be able to shave a couple seconds off their times at the skills competition."

Here is a list of the players that will be taking part in the Superskills:

Jersey #

Last Name

First Name

2 Ngo Curtis
3 Serrao Traeland
4 Riddell Branden
5 Kemp Kyler
7 Wenzel Dylan
8 Fioretti Chase
9 Struiksma Brandon
10 Zaharia Reid
11 Bay Jordan
12 Carruthers Joshua
14 Bett Kyle
15 MacKenzie Stephen
16 O’Brien Dawson
17 Jaman Jake
18 Megens Damon
19 Yewchuck Zak
31 Mallory William
34 Holmes Nick


2012 Alberta Hockey Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced Thursday the candidates that will be inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame for 2012.

“We look forward each year to recognizing those who have made significant contributions to hockey in Alberta, Canada and around the world,” said Scott Robinson, executive director, Hockey Alberta Foundation. “The Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame is an important showcase of our game’s history in Alberta and all of these inductees are well-deserving of this honour.”

The following four individuals and two teams were selected by the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee to enter the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012:


• 1994 University of Lethbridge Pronghorns Men’s Hockey Team
• 1984-85 NAIT Ooks Men’s Hockey Team
• Allan Ferchuk – Red Deer College Kings
• Wally Popik – Past Hockey Alberta Referee-in-Chief
• Ross Perkins – Former Edmonton Oiler and amateur hockey coach
• George H. Harvie (Deceased) – Former AAHA President (Pioneer Category)

These inductees were chosen from nominations based on select criteria. Nominees must have lived in Alberta for at least 5 years, must have personal and or professional accomplishments in the game of hockey, must have made an impact in the game beyond a local or regional level and must have received significant other recognitions. Nominations could be made for either an individual or team active or retired.

The Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame gallery is located within the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Red Deer. The Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame gallery is designed to preserve and celebrate Alberta’s hockey history. Items that are on display date back to the beginning, to those first days of Hockey, including old jerseys, autographed photographs and other items. The Hall of Fame maintains legacies of professional and amateur hockey in Alberta for people to enjoy forever.

The 2012 inductees were recognized at the Hockey Alberta Awards Gala t on Saturday, June 9, 2012 at the Sheraton Red Deer Hotel - 3310 50 Ave, Red Deer, Alberta.


Calgary Trails West Wolves Male And Big Country Zone 2 Female Capture Gold At Alberta Winter Games

Hockey Alberta is pleased to congratulate Calgary Trails West Peewee Wolves (Zone 3) male hockey team and Big Country (Zone 2) female zone team for capturing Gold Medals at the 2012 Alberta Winter Games, which were held February 9-12 in Spruce Grove, Stony Plain and Parkland County.

Female Competition:

Gold - Zone 2 (Big Country)
Silver – Zone 6 (Edmonton)
Bronze – Zone 3 (Calgary)
4th – Zone 5 (Black Gold/Yellowhead)
5th - Zone 8 (Peace Country)
6th – Zone 7 (Northeastern Alberta)
7th – Zone 4 (Parkland)
8th – Zone 1 (Sunny South)

Gold Medal Game:
Zone 2 (3) – Zone 6 (1)

Bronze Medal Game:
Zone 3 (5) – Zone 5 (1)

Male Competition:

Gold - Calgary Trails West Wolves (Zone 3)
Silver - Lacombe Rockets (Zone 4)
Bronze - Kneehill Cheifs (Zone 2)
4th Place – Drayton Valley Rangers (Zone 5)

Teams that didn’t qualify for playoffs (no specific ranking):

Edmonton SWAT Apex (Zone 6)
Sexsmith Vipers (Wildcard)
High Prairie Lumber Blades (Zone 8)
St. Paul Canadians (Zone 7)

Gold Medal Game:
Calgary Trails West (5) – Lacombe Rockets (1)

Bronze Medal Game:
Drayton Valley Rangers (3) – Kneehill Cheifs (4)

The Alberta Winter Games runs every second year. The male category is made up of club teams and is open to all provincial eligible Peewee A, B, C, and D teams throughout Alberta. The female category is part of Hockey Alberta’s Team Alberta program where the eight zone teams are comprised of the top U16 female talent in Alberta through a tryout process. U16 female athletes compete at the Alberta Winter Games in the off years of the Team Alberta Challenge.

The Alberta Sport, Recreation, Parks and Wildlife Foundation facilitates the Alberta Winter Games on behalf of the Alberta government and works closely with the host community to prepare for the event. The Alberta Winter Games were established in 1974 as multi-sport event to provide develop opportunities for amateur athletes and help them advance their skills in a competitive yet friendly environment. The Alberta Winter Games hosts over 2800 athletes, coaches and referees all participating in 24 different sports such as: badminton, wrestling, squash and more.


In Memory Of Vern Davis

Hockey Alberta remembers the life of Mr. Vern Davis.

Vern Davis was co-founder of Edmonton Minor Hockey Week and has volunteered in many aspects of hockey in Edmonton and the province for over 50 years.

In his goal to help children learn the game of hockey, Vern was the founding father of the “Little Richard” League in NW Edmonton which eventually became Initiation hockey.  As a proud member of the Edmonton Minor Hockey Association Alumni, he assisted with raising funds for children and was instrumental in ensuring kids who were unable to play hockey for financial reasons had an opportunity.

Vern was named Hockey Volunteer of the Year by the Edmonton Oilers, he was inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame by the City of Edmonton, and Vern was recognized by Hockey Alberta as one of the 100 Centennial Award Recipients.  These are just a few of his accomplishments over the years.  Of all the numerous awards and recognitions bestowed upon him, he will be remembered most as a kind and gentle man who has left an indelible mark on our hearts and the hockey world in Edmonton.

Until we meet again our dear friend...