Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Week Two Results - Hockey Alberta Provincials

Twenty new provincial champions were crowned on Sunday, as the second week of the 2015 Hockey Alberta Provincials wrapped up.

10 Midget teams, one Bantam team, seven Peewee teams, and one Atom team were presented with a championship banner as they won their provincial tournaments. The Senior AAA Male provincial champions were also crowned following a provincial playdown series. 

Throughout the months of March and April, more than 6000 amateur male and female hockey players, ranging in age divisions from Atom to Senior, will take part in the 2015 Hockey Alberta Provincials. Over 400 teams playing in 38 provincial championship tournaments and six provincial championship playdown series will hit the ice across the province to battle it out for their respective provincial titles.


Gold Medal Games

Midget AAA Female – Edmonton Thunder 3, Red Deer Chiefs 1
Minor Midget AAASSAC United Cycle Bulldogs 3, NWCAA Stampeders 1
Midget AA Major – Calgary Royals 4, Red Deer Indy Chiefs 3 (OT)
Midget AA Minor – Calgary Trails West Wolves 4, Calgary Glenlake Hawks 2
Midget A – Wetaskiwin Ice Kings 4, Olds Grizzlys 3
Midget A Female – Calgary Chaos 2, Fort Saskatchewan Fury 0
Midget B – Viking Gas Kings 3, Vermilion Credit Union Tigers 2
Midget B Female – St. Albert Rush 3, Stettler OK Tire Storm 1
Midget C – La Crete Lumberjacks 6, Provost Blades 2
Midget D – Oyen Bees 6, Redwater Rush 3
Bantam AA Minor – Lloydminster Blazers 4, Lethbridge Hurricanes 3 (OT)
Peewee AA Major – St. Albert Sabres 7, Wainwright Polar Kings 6
Peewee AA Minor – Lethbridge Hurricanes 3, Lloydminster Granite Oilfield 2
Peewee A – Strathcona Warriors 3, Okotoks Oilers 2
Peewee B – Blackfalds Bulldogs 5, Drayton Valley Rangers 1
Peewee B Female – Irma Aces 2, Fort Saskatchewan Fury 1
Peewee C – High Prairie Blades 4, Westlock Warriors 2
Peewee D – Big Valley Thunder 11, Raymond Ice 1
Atom Female – Lloydminster Blazers 3, Calgary Jets 1


Senior AAAInnisfail Eagles VS. Bentley Generals

Bentley wins best-of-seven series 4-0, move on to the Allan Cup


March 14: Bentley 5, Innisfail 2
March 15: Bentley 4, Innisfail 3
March 21: Bentley 4, Innisfail 3
March 22: Bentley 4, Innisfail 1

Allan Cup – April 13-18, 2015 – Clarenville, Newfoundland

Bantam AAA (AMBHL) – Rocky Mountain Raiders VS. Fort Saskatchewan Winners Way Rangers

Best-of-five series tied at 2-2

March 14: Rocky Mountain 5, Fort Saskatchewan 4 (OT)
March 15: Fort Saskatchewan 3, Rocky Mountain 2
March 21: Rocky Mountain 4, Fort Saskatchewan 3 (OT)
March 22: Fort Saskatchewan 5, Rocky Mountain 3

Upcoming Games
March 24 : Fort Sask at Rocky Mountain (6:00pm – Scott Seaman Sports Arena)

Western Canada Bantam Championship – April 2-5, 2015 – Winnipeg, Manitoba

Midget AAA Major – CAC Gregg Distributors vs UFA Bisons
Best-of-five series tied 1-1

March 20: UFA Bisons 4, CAC Gregg Distributors 2
March 22: CAC Gregg Distributors 3, UFA Bisons 2

Upcoming Games
March 25: Bisons at CAC (7:45pm – Bill Hunter Arena)
March 27: CAC at Bisons (8:00pm – Strathmore)
March 29 (if necessary): Bisons at CAC (2:15pm – Bill Hunter Arena)

Telus Cup – April 20-26, 2015 – Riviere-du-Loup, Quebec


Officials Selected For Canadian Interuniversity Sports National Championships

Hockey Alberta would like to congratulate the following officials who have been selected to officiate the 2015 Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Nationals:

  • Tyler Adair, Calgary (Men’s ) – Official
  • Lacey Senuk, Edmonton (Women’s) - Official
  • Shannon Kline, Calgary (Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Erica Holmes, Calgary ( Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Alana Cabana, Edmonton (Womne’s – Linesmen

Hockey Canada selects the officials in conjunction with the CIS, the Canada West Conference as well as provincial ratings sent to Hockey Canada by the Provincial Referee Committee.

The 2015 CIS Men’s Hockey Championship (University Cup) will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the Scotiabank Centre.

The University of Alberta Golden Bears (No. 1 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 6 Seed) will represent Canada West at the University Cup.

The 2015 CIS Women’s Hockey Championship will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta at the Markin MacPhail Centre.

The University of Alberta Pandas (No. 3 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 8 Seed/Host) will represent Canada West at the Women’s Hockey Championship.

For more information on either of these events and the CIS, please visit the CIS website.


Alberta Wins The Silver Medal At The 2015 Canada Winter Games

For the fifth time, Ontario has won the men’s hockey gold medal at the Canada Winter Games, beating Alberta 3-1 in Sunday afternoon’s gold medal game at the CN Centre.

It was Alberta’s fourth silver medal, winning previously in 1971, 1991 and 1995.

Ontario’s, Ryan McLeod opened the scoring eight minutes into the second period, and Nick Suzuki and Zachary Gallant added goals seven minutes apart in the third to give Ontario all the offence it would need. Zane Franklin ended Michael DiPietro’s shutout bid with just two seconds left for the lone Alberta goal.

DiPietro finished with 29 saves in the Ontario goal, while Ian Scott made 33 stops for Alberta.

Alberta won 3-1 in Friday’s semifinal against Manitoba. Kobe Mohr scored in the first period, Ethan McIndoe got the game-winner in the second and Josh Paterson added insurance in the third – all on the power play – to lead Alberta to its fifth win in as many tries. Scott finished with 32 saves to pick up his fourth win of the tournament in the Alberta net.

In the quarterfinal against New Brunswick, Alberta was led by a hat-trick from Jaret Anderson-Dolan, two goals from Logan Mazerolle, and one from Jeremy Klessens, to secure a 6-1 victory. Ian Scott got the win in net.

On Tuesday, Alberta beat Quebec by a score of 5-4 to clinch first place in their Group. Franklin scored what proved to be the winner early in the third period, and Alberta then held off Quebec the rest of the way.

Other goals were scored by Brett Leason, Mohr, Kyle Olson and Josh Paterson. Assists went to Mohr (3), Ian Mitchell (2), Olson, Ty Smith, Klessens, and Mazerolle. Ian Scott picked up the win in net.

In their second preliminary game, Team Alberta won 5-4 over Nova Scotia. Scoring for Alberta were Leason, Franklin, Paterson, Ryan Anderson, and Olson. Assists went to Mitchell, Dylan Plouffe, Anderson-Dolan, Olson and Paterson. Dane Dow was the winning goaltender.

They opened the tournament with a 4-1 victory over Saskatchewan. Alberta goals were scored by Mohr, Mitchell, Anderson-Dolan, and Smith. Assists were credited to Paterson (2), James Hamblin (2), Ryan Peckford, Olson and Franklin. Scott was the winning goaltender.

The men’s hockey tournament at the 2015 Canada Winter Games brought together the top players from across Canada’s provinces and territories born in 1999 or later.