Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


Coach Of The Month - February

Hockey Alberta’s Coach of the Month for February is Ian Barnett of the Sundre Atom A Huskies!

Ian Barnett is an amazing role model, not only to his players, but to parents and association members alike. His priority is team, on and off the ice, and the boys never leave the room without a positive comment about their effort and attitude. After each practice, game or function, you can hear Ian’s deep, booming voice saying, “Great work gentlemen!” And he truly does treat his players as young gentlemen.

To create a strong team atmosphere, though, Ian has been successful earning their respect. He works with each player to set a short term goal, and a path to reach it, that is achievable for that player’s ability and desires in hockey. These young men are a family and look out for each other.

Ian is also a mentor to his assistant coaches and the junior coach on his staff. Each coach is involved in the function of the team and follow his lead of positive attitude, hard work and respect for all. Each volunteer they come across and each referee gets a thank you in appreciation of their efforts.

For more details on Hockey Alberta’s Coach of the Month, click here.


Officials Selected For Canadian Interuniversity Sports National Championships

Hockey Alberta would like to congratulate the following officials who have been selected to officiate the 2015 Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Nationals:

  • Tyler Adair, Calgary (Men’s ) – Official
  • Lacey Senuk, Edmonton (Women’s) - Official
  • Shannon Kline, Calgary (Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Erica Holmes, Calgary ( Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Alana Cabana, Edmonton (Womne’s – Linesmen

Hockey Canada selects the officials in conjunction with the CIS, the Canada West Conference as well as provincial ratings sent to Hockey Canada by the Provincial Referee Committee.

The 2015 CIS Men’s Hockey Championship (University Cup) will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the Scotiabank Centre.

The University of Alberta Golden Bears (No. 1 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 6 Seed) will represent Canada West at the University Cup.

The 2015 CIS Women’s Hockey Championship will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta at the Markin MacPhail Centre.

The University of Alberta Pandas (No. 3 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 8 Seed/Host) will represent Canada West at the Women’s Hockey Championship.

For more information on either of these events and the CIS, please visit the CIS website.


Alberta Wins The Silver Medal At The 2015 Canada Winter Games

For the fifth time, Ontario has won the men’s hockey gold medal at the Canada Winter Games, beating Alberta 3-1 in Sunday afternoon’s gold medal game at the CN Centre.

It was Alberta’s fourth silver medal, winning previously in 1971, 1991 and 1995.

Ontario’s, Ryan McLeod opened the scoring eight minutes into the second period, and Nick Suzuki and Zachary Gallant added goals seven minutes apart in the third to give Ontario all the offence it would need. Zane Franklin ended Michael DiPietro’s shutout bid with just two seconds left for the lone Alberta goal.

DiPietro finished with 29 saves in the Ontario goal, while Ian Scott made 33 stops for Alberta.

Alberta won 3-1 in Friday’s semifinal against Manitoba. Kobe Mohr scored in the first period, Ethan McIndoe got the game-winner in the second and Josh Paterson added insurance in the third – all on the power play – to lead Alberta to its fifth win in as many tries. Scott finished with 32 saves to pick up his fourth win of the tournament in the Alberta net.

In the quarterfinal against New Brunswick, Alberta was led by a hat-trick from Jaret Anderson-Dolan, two goals from Logan Mazerolle, and one from Jeremy Klessens, to secure a 6-1 victory. Ian Scott got the win in net.

On Tuesday, Alberta beat Quebec by a score of 5-4 to clinch first place in their Group. Franklin scored what proved to be the winner early in the third period, and Alberta then held off Quebec the rest of the way.

Other goals were scored by Brett Leason, Mohr, Kyle Olson and Josh Paterson. Assists went to Mohr (3), Ian Mitchell (2), Olson, Ty Smith, Klessens, and Mazerolle. Ian Scott picked up the win in net.

In their second preliminary game, Team Alberta won 5-4 over Nova Scotia. Scoring for Alberta were Leason, Franklin, Paterson, Ryan Anderson, and Olson. Assists went to Mitchell, Dylan Plouffe, Anderson-Dolan, Olson and Paterson. Dane Dow was the winning goaltender.

They opened the tournament with a 4-1 victory over Saskatchewan. Alberta goals were scored by Mohr, Mitchell, Anderson-Dolan, and Smith. Assists were credited to Paterson (2), James Hamblin (2), Ryan Peckford, Olson and Franklin. Scott was the winning goaltender.

The men’s hockey tournament at the 2015 Canada Winter Games brought together the top players from across Canada’s provinces and territories born in 1999 or later.