Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


ATB Alberta Cup Zone Camps Set For This Weekend

Step one in the selection process for the 2015 ATB Alberta Cup begins this weekend at six locations across the province.

Team Alberta Zone Selection camps are being held March 27-29 in Spruce Grove, Vegreville, Edmonton, Calgary, Blackfalds and Strathmore for 2000-born male athletes. From the camps, players will be selected to comprise the rosters of the eight squads that will compete at the ATB Alberta Cup, April 29-May 3 in Canmore.

Teams will be selected to represent the following provincial regions: Northwest, Northeast, Central, and South, with two teams selected in each of Edmonton and Calgary. The selection process is based on player performance during weekend camps.

Staff lists have been finalized, and feature the following volunteers:

Calgary North: director of operations Justin Connelly, coach mentor Craig Perrett, head coach Claude Vilgrain, assistant coaches Kevin Lanes and Terry Sydoryk, and trainer Jacalyn Moore (all from Calgary).

Calgary South: director of operations Jeremy Congo (Calgary), coach mentor Bobby Fox (Calgary), head coach Geoff Oster (Lethbridge), assistant coaches Marian Gmittter and Sean Liddell (Calgary), and trainer Rachel Wiebe (Calgary).

Central: director of operations Ian Tisdale (Eckville), coach mentor Rick Gregory (Wetaskiwin), head coach Alex Mandolidis (Calgary), assistant coaches Chase Fuchs (Calgary) and Scott Holliday (Edmonton), and trainer Aaron Madgett (Olds).

Edmonton Blue: director of operations Mike Cherniwchan (St. Albert), coach mentor Gary Snydmiller (Camrose), head coach Josh Gosling (Calgary), assistant coaches Eli Bruce (Sherwood Park) and Nick Symon (Calgary), and trainer Wade Sadoway (Edmonton).

Edmonton Yellow: director of operations SharleneCritch (Leduc), coach mentor Bram Stephen (Edmonton), head coach Brandon Heck (Camrose), assistant coaches Rob Dellaire (Edmonton) and Shane Maloney (Sherwood Park), and trainer Jen Peters (Ardrossan).

Northeast: director of operations Phil Rowe (Vegreville), coach mentor Kyle Tapp (Lloydminster), head coach Jason Wiwad (Vegreville), assistant coaches KirillChikin (Edmonton) and Brad Huolt (Camrose), and trainer Cameron Chan (Lac La Biche).

Northwest: director of operations Maureen Medori (Spruce Grove), coach mentor Rob Dawson (Edmonton), head coach Matt Keillor (Grande Prairie), assistant coaches Carter Duffin (Red Deer) and Gordon Yake (St. Albert), and trainer KarynFanstone (Drayton Valley).


Officials Selected For Canadian Interuniversity Sports National Championships

Hockey Alberta would like to congratulate the following officials who have been selected to officiate the 2015 Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Nationals:

  • Tyler Adair, Calgary (Men’s ) – Official
  • Lacey Senuk, Edmonton (Women’s) - Official
  • Shannon Kline, Calgary (Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Erica Holmes, Calgary ( Women’s) – Linesmen
  • Alana Cabana, Edmonton (Womne’s – Linesmen

Hockey Canada selects the officials in conjunction with the CIS, the Canada West Conference as well as provincial ratings sent to Hockey Canada by the Provincial Referee Committee.

The 2015 CIS Men’s Hockey Championship (University Cup) will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the Scotiabank Centre.

The University of Alberta Golden Bears (No. 1 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 6 Seed) will represent Canada West at the University Cup.

The 2015 CIS Women’s Hockey Championship will take place on March 12-15, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta at the Markin MacPhail Centre.

The University of Alberta Pandas (No. 3 Seed) and the University of Calgary Dinos (No. 8 Seed/Host) will represent Canada West at the Women’s Hockey Championship.

For more information on either of these events and the CIS, please visit the CIS website.


Alberta Wins The Silver Medal At The 2015 Canada Winter Games

For the fifth time, Ontario has won the men’s hockey gold medal at the Canada Winter Games, beating Alberta 3-1 in Sunday afternoon’s gold medal game at the CN Centre.

It was Alberta’s fourth silver medal, winning previously in 1971, 1991 and 1995.

Ontario’s, Ryan McLeod opened the scoring eight minutes into the second period, and Nick Suzuki and Zachary Gallant added goals seven minutes apart in the third to give Ontario all the offence it would need. Zane Franklin ended Michael DiPietro’s shutout bid with just two seconds left for the lone Alberta goal.

DiPietro finished with 29 saves in the Ontario goal, while Ian Scott made 33 stops for Alberta.

Alberta won 3-1 in Friday’s semifinal against Manitoba. Kobe Mohr scored in the first period, Ethan McIndoe got the game-winner in the second and Josh Paterson added insurance in the third – all on the power play – to lead Alberta to its fifth win in as many tries. Scott finished with 32 saves to pick up his fourth win of the tournament in the Alberta net.

In the quarterfinal against New Brunswick, Alberta was led by a hat-trick from Jaret Anderson-Dolan, two goals from Logan Mazerolle, and one from Jeremy Klessens, to secure a 6-1 victory. Ian Scott got the win in net.

On Tuesday, Alberta beat Quebec by a score of 5-4 to clinch first place in their Group. Franklin scored what proved to be the winner early in the third period, and Alberta then held off Quebec the rest of the way.

Other goals were scored by Brett Leason, Mohr, Kyle Olson and Josh Paterson. Assists went to Mohr (3), Ian Mitchell (2), Olson, Ty Smith, Klessens, and Mazerolle. Ian Scott picked up the win in net.

In their second preliminary game, Team Alberta won 5-4 over Nova Scotia. Scoring for Alberta were Leason, Franklin, Paterson, Ryan Anderson, and Olson. Assists went to Mitchell, Dylan Plouffe, Anderson-Dolan, Olson and Paterson. Dane Dow was the winning goaltender.

They opened the tournament with a 4-1 victory over Saskatchewan. Alberta goals were scored by Mohr, Mitchell, Anderson-Dolan, and Smith. Assists were credited to Paterson (2), James Hamblin (2), Ryan Peckford, Olson and Franklin. Scott was the winning goaltender.

The men’s hockey tournament at the 2015 Canada Winter Games brought together the top players from across Canada’s provinces and territories born in 1999 or later.