Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North


2013 Alberta Hockey Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced Thursday the candidates that will be inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame (AHHF) for 2013.

“Every year we enjoy looking back at the accomplishments and recognizing the significant contributions to hockey in Alberta, Canada and beyond,” said Scott Robinson, executive director of the Hockey Alberta Foundation. “The AHHF is a place of legacy, where we can showcase the groundwork and chronicle the game of Hockey in Alberta. All of the inductees deserve this honour for their accomplishments.”

The following three individuals and two teams were chosen by the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee to enter the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 2013:


  • 1980-81 SAIT Trojans Men’s Hockey Team (Achievement Category)
  • Don Phelps (Builder Category)
  • Rick Polutnik (Builder Category)
  • John Jacobs (Builder Category)
  • 1947 Edmonton Flyers (Pioneer Category)

These inductees were chosen from nominations based on select criteria. Nominees must have lived in Alberta for at least five years, must have personal and/or professional accomplishments in the game of hockey, must have made an impact in the game beyond a local or regional level and must have received other significant recognitions. Nominations could be made for either an individual or team, active or retired.

The AHHF gallery is located within the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Red Deer. The AHHF gallery is designed to preserve and celebrate Alberta’s hockey history. Items that are on display date back to those first days of Hockey, including old jerseys, autographed photographs and other items. The Hall of Fame maintains legacies of professional and amateur hockey in Alberta for people to enjoy forever.

2013’s inductees were recognized at the Hockey Alberta Awards Gala, Saturday, June 15, 2013 at the Sheraton Red Deer Hotel - 3310 50 Ave, Red Deer, Alberta.