Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North

2015 Future Leaders Coach Scholarships Awarded

Since the Future Leaders Scholarship program was established in 1998, Hockey Alberta Foundation has invested annually in the development of great leaders for the future of the game and our communities in Alberta.

The scholarship program operates in alignment with Hockey Alberta’s Future Leaders Development Program, which focuses on educating and training our post-secondary student coaches to be strong and effective on-ice leaders.

We firmly believe that establishing a stronger leadership network through education will serve the game of hockey and its communities for many years to come. It is through the investment in leadership that university and college students have the opportunity to learn proper instruction, administration, leadership, technical and tactical skills in hockey and carry those skills into our communities.

After 17 years, we have contributed over $350,000 to the Future Leaders Development and Scholarship Program which has seen more than 300 students participate and more than $180,000 in scholarship awarded.

As of September 2015, another 9 post-secondary students have been added to this long list. The following individuals have demonstrated commitment to the game through leadership and skill development in coaching:

  • Cheyann Newman (University of Calgary)
  • Kaitlyn Whaley (NAIT)
  • Roberta Stinn (University of Alberta)
  • JT Bartlett (University of Alberta)
  • Amber Yuha (University of Lethbridge)
  • Stephen Zipp (MacEwan University)
  • Austin Sevalrud (University of Alaska)
  • Ryker Leer (University of Alaska Fairbanks)
  • Jordan McTaggart (Red Deer College)

The Hockey Alberta Foundation sincerely congratulates this years recipients and looks forward to awarding additional funding to two recipients who will be recognized as achieving "distinguished status" for going over and above the expectations of the program.