Ernie Boruk Award

The Ernie Boruk Award is presented annually to an individual in appreciation of outstanding dedication and contribution to the
Hockey Alberta Referee Council. (Maxium one recipient per year.)


  • Nominees can be either an active or no longer active on-ice official
  • Nominees have made an outstanding contribution to hockey officiating in Alberta at the provincial level
  • Nominees are or were members in good standing
  • Nominees have been or were involved for a minimum of fifteen years with at least five years of administration (ie: zone executive member or local RIC)

Selection Committee

  • Past Branch RIC (chair of awards committee)
  • Branch RIC
  • Dave Ganley


  • Must be received no later than April 1, (of appropriate year)
  • Must have accompanying documentation outlining the nominee’s contribution
  • Must be submitted to the chairman of the awards committee with copies to the branch RIC

Nominations will be brought forward for (2) years in addition to the original nomination year.

Ernie Boruk Award nomination form >

Kumail Moledina (Edmonton)

Kumail Moledina (left) receives the Ernie Boruk award from Curtis Nichols

Kumail first registered in 1993 in the South East District in Edmonton. He attended the Hockey Alberta Development Camp in 2000, and worked his way up to a Level 4 Official.  He refereed Midget AAA, Junior B, and attended Macs tournament twice as linesman and once as referee.

He has held numerous positions at the zone level including Vice Chair and was on the Discipline committee.  He also held the role of Secretary and was on the Rates committee and Social committee, supervision committee, he’s been a minor Committee member.  Kumail was also assigned in SE District for 3 years and in the AA program for one year.  He’s also handled discipline and elections, and launched the shadow program in Edmonton in the SE District.  He was also a Zone Chairman for 4 years, and Provincially has held the position of match penalty coordinator

He won the Ron Panchyshyn Award in 2013 and the George McCorry Award in 2015.

2017 - Dave Butler 2016 - Craig DeCoursey
2015 - Don Roberts 2003 - Ross Yarmuch
2014 - Curtis Nichols 2002 - Jim McNamara
2013 - Mark Woytkiw 2001 - Keith Wilkinson
2012 - Dion Pollard 2000 - Dwayne Lunquist
2011 - Dave Shaw 1999 - John Kobal
2010 - Marty Tingstad 1998 - Bryan Morrison
2009 - Karent Kost 1997 - Wally Popik
2008 - John Jacobs 1996 - Dave Luke
2007 - Miles Spencer 1995 - Ken McVicar
2006 - Wayne Krausnick 1994 - Bernie Haley
2005 - Mike Rebus 1993 - George McCorry
2004 - Duncan MacDougal 1992 - Dave Ganley