Dave Ganley Award

The Dave Ganley Award will be presented to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to Hockey Officiating in Alberta. (Maximum two recipients per year.)


  • Nominees can be either an active or no longer active on-ice official
  • Nominees have made an outstanding contribution to hockey officiating in Alberta at either the local or provincial level
  • Nominees are or were members in good standing
  • Nominees have been or were involved for a minimum of fifteen years with at least five years of administration (ie: zone executive member or local RIC)

Selection Committee

  • Past Branch RIC (chair of awards committee)
  • Branch RIC
  • Dave Ganley


  • Must be received no later than April 1, (of appropriate year)
  • Must have accompanying documentation outlining the nominee’s contribution
  • Must be submitted to the chairman of the awards committee with copies to the branch RIC and Dave Ganley

Nominations will be brought forward for (2) years in addition to the original nomination year.

Dave Ganley Award Nomination Form >

Gary Goreniuk (Bonnyville)

Gary Goreniuk (left) receives the Dave Ganley award from Northeast Zone Chair Rob Larson.

Gary began officiating at the age of 28 with no prior hockey experience, and is now in his 22nd season of officiating in the North East Zone. He quickly moved up to become a Level 4 Official, working Junior B and Senior hockey, as well as working lines in the Alberta Junior Hockey League. 

Gary has served as RIC for Bonnyville for a number of years, and still assigns all of the hockey in Bonnyville and for some regional teams. He also supervises and mentors upcoming officials, and has acted as the Tournament RIC for a number of Provincial tournaments.

After serving time in multiple roles on the North East Zone Executive, Gary is now in his second year as the zone’s Vice Chairman.

2017 - Doug Brown

2016 - Paul Isaac & Ken Dentzien

2015 - Aaron Brown & Gary Greenough

2014 - Brent Woods & Herman Costa

2013 - Dean Ziegler & Scott McNabb

2012 - Monty Wood & Jody Ginther

2011 - Darren Bauer & Brad Buchinski

2010 - Dave Butler & Andy Odenbach

2009 - Marcel Pigeau & Todd Swerda