Hockey CanadaBC HockeyHockey AlbertaHockey SaskHockey ManitobaHockey Northwestern OntarioOntario Hockey FederationHockey Easern OntarioQuebec Hockey NetworkHockey New BrunswickHockey PEIHockey Nova ScotiaHockey NLHockey North

Photo Credit: Rob Wallator

Coach of the Month

Coaches are an integral part of minor hockey and their countless hours and dedication provide the opportunity for over 60,000 kids in Alberta to play hockey. Hockey Alberta’s mission is to create positive experience for all players in the province. Our coaches provide the leadership to ensure our players have positive outcomes, whether they’re just starting at the U7 level, aspiring to a professional career, or somewhere in-between. Help us recognize a coach in your community by nominating him or her for the Hockey Alberta Coach of the Month!

Coaches will be selected throughout the hockey season and will receive a coaching package valued at over $500, sponsored by Players Bench Team Apparel.

This package will include:

  • Helmet, Gloves, Track Suit, Coach Bag, Puck Bag, Rink Board, and Coaching Resources.

Nominate your coach below!


November - Randy Rosen (U16 AAA Sherwood Park Squires)


 Lee Zalasky (U15 AAA Canadian Athletics Club)
Derek McEwan (U13 Tier 1 SA503 Chargers)
Tracy Desmarais (U11 and U15 Paradise Valley Jets)
Brad McCoy (U13 AA Fort McMurray Bouchier Junior Oil Barons)


October - Greg Northcott (Sturgeon Sting Midget AA)
November - Sheldon Ghostkeeper (Slave Lake Thunder Atom 1 and Novice 2)
December - Chris Friesen (Trails West Novice 3 Red and GHC Senior Timbits 1)


January - Shawn Van Buuren (Coaldale Cobras Peewee 2)
February - Chad Huseby (Red Deer Novice Gritty Flyers)
March - Dave Eggleston (Stettler Storm Mites, Atom Female, and Peewee Female) and Mike Lees (KC St. Matthew Thunder Novice)


October - Dan Cavanagh (Crowfoot Coyotes Peewee 4 Black, Minor Novice 3 and Jr. Timbits 2)
November - Danielle Wheeler (Stettler Novice Green and Stettler Mites Grey)
December - Cam Church (Irvine Atom B Bulldogs, Novice Major Bulldogs and Initiation SR Bulldogs)


January - Ron Laferriere (Wainwright Peewee AA Polar Kings)
February - Jason Rietveld (Edmonton Adaptive Sports Association)
March - Chris Overwater (Olds MHA) and Dave Shaw (Sherwood Park Atom 1 Arrows)


October - Chad Goeree (SPS Fuzion Peewee & Bantam)
November - Derek Selte (Vermilion Atom Female Tigers)
December - Mark Fournier (Smoky River Smoky Seed Bantams & Novice Richardson Pioneers)


January - Craig Radtke (Leduc Roughnecks Atom 1)
February - Charles Vance (Calgary Peewee 4 Saints)
March - Kyle Johnson (Clive Initiation Blackhawks)


September - Josh Gork (KC West Peewee Ice Wolves - Edmonton)
October - Charles Hainsworth (Eckville Novice Eagles & Eckville Atom Eagles)
November - Kent Goodreau (Pincher Creek Midget 1)
December - Kelsey Leifson (Calgary Bantam Elite Fire Red)


January - Joe Bouvier (Clive Initiation and Novice)
February - Jake Rushton (Fairview Novice Bears)
March - Jeff Rasmusen (Duchess/Brooks) and Brock Armstrong (Sylvan Lake)

Hockey Alberta Coach of the Month Nomination Form

If you would like to nominate your coach for Hockey Alberta’s Coach of the Month award, please completely fill out the form below.

Required Fields *

Nominee Information

() - -

Nominator Information

() - -